“My tampon lied!” and other amusing moments in a same sex relationship

Disclaimer: If you are grossed out by bodily functions, I suggest you stop reading this post now.

I never really gave it much thought to how different a same sex relationship would be  before I began dating women in my early 20s.

Dating a member of the same sex brings new challenges, laughable moments and shared understanding. When you date a woman you can expect to share clothes, share perfumes, makeup, hair products, skincare products and at times bodily functions.

Today was one of those days. My tampon lied! It said my period was over but it was in fact not… as made apparent to my girlfriend and I later. Sometimes tampons can’t be trusted and you have to give mother nature more time but in the heat of a moment who has time to patiently wait to verify that sort of thing?

So that was embarrassing for me, and later amusing. Thankfully my girlfriend isn’t shy or shocked by things like that. It wasn’t like I shared a bloody breakfast similar to the bloody mcMuffin in OITNB. I’m sure that things like that (not the Bloody mcMuffin) happen in same and opposite sex relationships. But at least in same sex relationships, the other partner is more likely to be understanding.

Anyone have any amusing or brave stories you wish to share? Put them in the comments section.

2 thoughts on ““My tampon lied!” and other amusing moments in a same sex relationship

  1. Kinda similarly… I was in an awful fight with my ex and it was also my birthday, so it was just a really bad thing. People kept calling my phone (it was my birthday, after all!) and she would get more upset with each call and wouldn’t let me answer any of them. Finally I was like “um, I think I started my period” and since she didn’t have any tampons, I had to go to my car (parked down the street ha) and get some and then come back. It was the weirdest 10 minute mid-fight break ever.

Leave a Reply

